Back to Blog

Staten Island Chamber of Commerce presents its NEWLY RENOVATED 2016 Annual Building Awards for Excellence in Design & Construction

Joyce Venezia Suss - September 8, 2016
The Staten Island Chamber of Commerce Building Awards Program, now in its 55th year, has been redesigned to acknowledge the building and design industries’ ability to adapt to the diversity of Staten Island’s growing population.
Entries are now being accepted for commercial, residential and mixed-use projects including new construction, renovations, alternations/additions, historical renovations, Sandy renovations, kitchens, bathrooms and other single rooms. Categories include exterior, interior, interior decorating, outdoor space, specialty craftsmanship and green space.
“With so many new projects underway in Staten Island, we have reformatted the Chamber’s Building Awards program to expand the variety of entries,” said Chamber President Linda Baran. “The Chamber wants to recognize projects that may not have fit our categories in the past, including buildings that have been repurposed, or a project that helps revitalize a neighborhood.”
A new online application has been designed to make it easier to enter. Entries can be submitted by a project’s owner, architect/engineer, builder, general contractor, certified interior designer, interior decorator, craftsman, and/or landscape contractor/designer. Each entry will be judged on its own merit by a panel of judges representing a cross section of several building-related industries. For information about entering the competition, click here or Call the Chamber at 718-727-1900.
The deadline for applications is Friday, Sept. 30, 2016. Judging will take place in late October, and the Annual Building Awards Luncheon will take place on Friday, Dec. 2 at the Hilton Garden Inn.
Multiple awards can be given for Excellence or Achievement in the above categories. In addition, the following are the most prestigious awards granted by the Building Awards committee include the Chairman’s Awards for both commercial and residential projects assessed over $1 million, and the President’s Awards for both commercial and residential projects assessed under $1 million.
The Building Awards program also bestows the Albert P. Melniker Award each year to a special person, group or structure that adds to the quality of life of the Staten Island community. It was named as a tribute to Albert Melniker, the founder of the Building Awards program, for his service, commitment and dedication to keeping Staten Island a beautiful place to both live and work.
A new feature this year are a variety of discretionary awards that may also be presented in any given year, based on the types of applications that are submitted. They include:
  • Best in Green Award recognizes one entry that best reflects the principals of green design.
  • Historical Renovation Award recognizes a structure or accessory structure – either commercial or residential - that has been restored to its original historic features. It recognizes an entry that sought to preserve, restore or recreate original historic features such as detailing, ornamentation, original materials or historical colors and textures, original planting or landscape features.
  • Sandy Restoration Award recognizes entries - either commercial or residential - which experienced substantial damage as a result of 2012 Super Storm Sandy and were rebuilt or reconstructed in accordance with NYC Resiliency and Flood resistant construction requirements.
  • Economic Development Award recognizes an entry that has helped revitalize a struggling business district, either by providing jobs or by inspiring other businesses to relocate to the area.
  • Neighborhood Improvement Award recognizes an entry that helps improve the character of a residential neighborhood, either by inspiring other neighbors or creating a place where neighbors can come together.
  • Adaptive Reuse Award recognizes an entry that has creatively transformed a time-worn or abandoned building into something new and useful.
  • Hard Hat of the Year Award recognizes the resiliency and skills of a lead applicant (builder, architect, owner or general contractor) who face significant challenges, yet completed the project on time and within budget.
  • Tiny Gem Award celebrates a small residential space - such as a charming cottage or an amazing apartment – that proves great things can come in small packages.


Categories: Chamber Blog, Press Releases

Add Your Comments

(not published)